Of Special Historic Interest
Family & Local Histories
Historical Articles - Baltimore CO, MD
Maryland History Timeline
Maryland State Symbols
Historical Maryland Photos
1851-1991 Panoramic Photos
Baltimore County Legacy Web
Calvert County History Digital LIbrary
Frederick County Historical Photos
Harford Co. Historical Photographs
Maryland Historic Photos
Maryland Through Prints
Washington Co. Historic Photos
Free Maryland Travel Kit
Search Phone Books
History is not a work of
philosophy, it is a painting; it is necessary to combine narration
with the representation of the subject, that is, it is necessary
simultaneously to design and to paint; it is necessary to give to men
the language and the sentiments of their times, not to regard the past
in the light of our own opinion.... Chateaubriand
START YOUR FAMILY TREE!
We'll Start Searching for you!
Allegany County Museum
Devoted to the history of Cumberland, Allegany County and
the Western Maryland region, the museum features exhibits of
historical artifacts, industrial archives, photographs and
research publications. Located at 81 Baltimore Street, in
the heart of the Historic Downtown Mall, in Cumberland, MD.
Centered around the C&O Canal, it is
Maryland's first certified heritage area. Located on
Canal Street in Cumberland, MD.
F. Brooke Whiting Museum
bungalow was built for the prominent Brook Whiting family of
Cumberland, MD. Filled with antique furnishings and
art, the home is located at 632 Washington Street in
Housed in the
1899 Hill Street School building, the museum promotes and
displays historical artifacts and documents related to the
early history of Frostburg. Located at the corner of
Hill & Oak in Frostburg, MD.
Gordon Roberts House
Step back into
the late 1800s when you visit this 1867 Second Empire style
home. Built for Judge Josiah Gordon and later occupied
by the W. Milner Roberts family, the home is now a museum
offering 3 floors of period furnishings and artifacts.
Located at 218 Washington Street in Cumberland, MD.
Mount Savage Museum
Focus is on
the history of the Mount Savage area. The museum is
housed inside the Cardinal Mooney House (an 1840 miners
house) and open by appointment only. Located in the
Mt. Savage Historic District in Mount Savage, MD.
Queen City Transportation Museum CLOSING
Queen City Transportation Museum on FaceBook
What looks like a
medieval castle in Cumberland, Maryland was at one time the
Cumberland National Guard Armory. Built in 1925, the
building actually features two round towers. Today, the
historic building is home to the Queen City Transportation
Museum. Museum features five major exhibits showcasing
vehicles from a Conestoga Wagon to Model T's. The five major
exhibits are: the National Road, Main Street USA circa 1900, Off
To the Races, Early Aviation, and the B&O Railroad & Queen City
Train Station History. Thirty-five original vehicles including
carts, sleighs, wagons, carriages, and early automobiles are on
display. Hands-on activities are available for children.
Located at 210 South Centre Street in Cumberland, MD.
Thrasher Carriage Museum
collection of horse drawn vehicles has been gathered in a
19th century warehouse. Note: this collection is being
moved to the Queen City Transportation Museum at 210 S.
Centre Street in Cumberland, MD and will be opened in
Anne Arundel County
Banneker Douglass Museum - African American Heritage
preserving Maryland's African American heritage, the museum
offers many artifacts, historical documents and photographs
related to black life in Maryland. Located in the old
Mount Moriah A. M. E. Church at 84 Franklin Street n
Captain Salem Avery House Museum
The Chesapeake Bay Waterman's Museum is
operated by the Shady Side Rural Heritage Society.
Exhibits include photos, story boards, and artifacts from a
time when the building was used as a Masonic Fishing and
Country Club. Also on the museum site is the Ethel
Andrews Memorial Library featuring a collection of historic
materials related to South County and Shady Side families
and businesses in particular. Located at 1418 East
West Shady Side Road in Shady Side, MD.
Hammond-Harwood House 1774 [Architectural
Built in 1774
for Matthias Hammond, a wealthy tobacco planter, this
beautiful colonial home may be toured and contains period
furnishings. Located at 19 Maryland Avenue in
Built by Stephen
Hancock Jr. in the 1780s, this stone building was used
during the War of 1812 and owned by the Hancock family until
1962. Today, the farm is used as a museum to depict
life on a market farm during the early 1800s. Located
at 2795 Bayside Beach Road in Pasadena, MD.
Historic Annapolis City Dock Webcam
Historic Londontown & Gardens
The park is 23
acres and is the site of historic London Town.
Maynard Burgess House
around the 1850s by John Maynard, a free African American
man, the house has been the site of extensive archaeological
digs which have uncovered many interesting historical
artifacts. Not open to the public. Located at
163 Duke of Gloucester Street in Annapolis, MD.
Shiplap House (New link needed)
Erected in 1715,
this is one of the oldest buildings still standing in
Annapolis. Home to Edward Smith, it is named Shiplap
House due to the way the siding is applied as in
shipbuilding. The home was used as an inn, tavern and
other business. Today, the Historic Annapolis
Foundation utilizes the house for offices and there are
exhibits related to the maritime history along with the
recreation of the tavern. Located at 18 Pinkney Street
in Annaopolis, MD.
William Brown House
William Paca House & Gardens
William Paca (signer of the Declaration of Independence)
between 1763 and 1765, the Georgian home is furnished with
beautiful antiques and arts and features a lovely 2 acre
garden. Today, visitors can enjoy a guided tour to
discover what life was like William Paca and his family.
Located at 186 Prince George Street in Annapolis, MD.
Babe Ruth Birthplace and Orioles Museum
Baltimore American Indian Center
Baltimore Civil War Museum
Housed inside an
1849 train station, the museum is focused on the role of
Maryland in the Civil War and how this train station was
utilized in the escape of African slaves through the
Underground Railroad. Location is 601 President Street
in Baltimore, MD.
Baltimore Maritime Museum
Baltimore Streetcar Museum
Devoted to the
history of streetcars in Baltimore, the museum offers
unlimited rides on original Baltimore streetcars and the
presentation of exhibits and films related to these grand
old streetcars. Located at 1901 Falls Road in
Edgar Allan Poe House and Museum [Photo]
Fort McHenry National Monument and Shrine
Geppi's Entertainment Museum
A 17,000 square
foot pop culture museum located on the second and third
floors of historic Camden Station at Camden Yards in
downtown Baltimore, MD, just a few blocks away from the
city’s famed Inner Harbor. Stephen A. Geppi, founder of
Diamond Comic Distributors (the largest English-language
comic book distributor in the world), publisher of Baltimore
Magazine, and part-owner of the Baltimore Orioles, presents
this unique exhibition of Americana and comic character
collectibles spanning the 1700s to the present day. The
museum exhibits nearly 8,000 pop culture artifacts including
comics, toys, dolls, games and memorabilia of every
conceivable category, all presented in an exhibition that
entertains as well as educates visitors about the role of
pop culture in our lives. Located in the Camden Yards at 301
W. Camden Street in Baltimore, MD.
Great Blacks in Wax Museum
Dedicated to the
study of African American history, this unique museum
features wax figures of historical black Americans.
Location is 1601-03 East North Avenue in Baltimore, MD.
Historic Houses of Hopkins
Irish Shrine at Lemmon Street
Jewish History Museum of Maryland [Collections Database]
Maryland Historical Society Museum
Focused on the
rich heritage of Maryland, the museum features 18th and 19th
century paintings, historical artifacts, antiques, and
household items used in everyday life by early settlers.
Next to the entrance is
Monument Street Garden. The lovely garden has been
on this site for over 150 years and includes fragments from
old demolished Baltimore buildings. Located at 201 W.
Monument Street in Baltimore, MD.
Mother Seton House
Federal-style house features 3 stories and was occupied b y Mrs.
Elizabeth Seton and her 3 daughters when she came from New York
City to establish a girls boarding school at St.. Mary's
Seminary and College. The house is furnished in period
furnishings and is located at 600 N. Paca Street in Baltimore,
Mount Clare Museum House
museum house is one of the oldest examples of colonial
Georgian architecture in Baltimore. The plantation
home was built in 1760 by state Senator, Charles Carroll.
Maintained and operated by the National Society of Colonial
Dames in America in the State of Maryland, the museum
features a collection of over 3000 historical objects which
includes paintings, furniture and decorative arts.
Visitors will learn about life on an 18th century plantation
including the lives of enslaved Africans and indentured
servants. Situated in the center of Carroll Park at
1500 Washington Blvd in Baltimore, MD.
Old Otterbein Church
constructed in 1771, the chapel was organized by members of
the First German Reformed Church. The present day
church was built in 1785, making it the oldest church in
continuous use in Baltimore. Still open for Sunday
worship services. Tours are offered on weekdays.
Located next to the Baltimore Convention Center, the Church
is at the corner of Sharp and Conway Streets in Baltimore,
Robert Long House
Star Bangled Banner Flag House & Museum
B & O Railroad Museum
national landmark gives visitors a chance to explore, see, touch
and hear the most important railroad collection in America.
Learn about the history of the railroad and even take a train
ride. Located at 901 W. Pratt Street in
Museum of Industry
The museum is
dedicated to the workers and small business people who built
America. Artifacts include an 1850s shipyard bell, an
early wooden gas pipe laid by the nation's first gas company, an
1820s "Acorn" printing press, sewing machines and other things
of history used by industrial workers in American history.
Located at 1415 Key Highway in Baltimore, MD.
Museum of Maryland
Learn about the
history of fire fighting and the 1904 Baltimore fire.
Exhibits include antique fire apparatus and memorabilia.
even a hands on discovery room where you can actually get on
a 1938 mack firetruck! Located at 1301 York Road in
Hampton National Historic Site
mansion is elegantly furnished and sits in the midst of
beautiful gardens and trees. Originally built as a country
seat after the Revolutionary War, the house remains today as
only a remnant of the Hampton estate of the early 1800s.
Today visitors can explore the Hampton and view artifacts and
scenery which recreates a world where people lived and played 3
centuries ago as America became a nation.
National Great Blacks in Wax Museum
Dedicated to the
study and preservation of African American history, the museum
features life-size wax figures of personalities of African
ancestry who have made contributions of historical importance to
American History. Located at 1601 E. North Avenue in
Townsend House & Pullen Museum
House features an 18th century floor plan and is filled with
antiques along with collections of historic artifacts.
Next door, inside what was previously the decorator workshop
of Mrs. Townsend who was an antique dealer, is now the
Pullen Museum which features Catonsville memorabilia and a
Genealogy Library where researchers will find
genealogical information. Located at 1824 Frederick
Road in Catonsville, MD.
Chesapeake Beach Railway Museum
Used as a train
station from the late 1800s and early 1900s to bring people to
the resort town of Chesapeake Beach, the depot closed in 1935
and now houses a museum offering insight into the history of
the Chesapeake Beach area. Located at 4155 Mears Avenue
in Chesapeake Beach, MD.
Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum
River Heritage Center &
Joppa Wharf Museum
Housed inside an
historic schooner and steamboat warehouse at Joppa Steamboat
Wharf, the heritage center strives to preserve and interpret the
history and development of the Choptank River and the early
river people who lived there. Located at 10215 River
Landing Road in West Denton, MD.
Carroll County Farm Museum
Guided tours and
interpretation will bring the farm life of 1800s Maryland to
life. The farm features original farm structures
including the 1852 farmhouse, a bank barn, a smokehouse, a
broom shop, saddlery, springhouse, general store, one-room
schoolhouse, wagon shed and a living history center complete
with artifacts, period furnishings and farming implements.
Located at 500 South Center Street in Westminster, MD.
Union Mills Homestead and Grist Mill [Photos]
Mount Harmon Plantation in 1974
Historic Rodgers Tavern
Mount Harmon Plantation
plantation home built ca 1730, it was home to Godfrey Harmon,
who had received a land grant of 350 acres in 1651.
Today the home has been preserved and restored. Tours
are offered in the summer months and weddings are performed on
the grounds. Situated on 290 acres, the entire
plantation is a nature preserve. Mount Harmon Plantation
is located in Earleville, MD.
Port Deposit's Paw Paw Heritage Museum [History]
The museum is
housed inside the Paw Paw Building which was built in 1821
as a Methodist Church. Over the years, the building
has served in many capacities. Today it houses the
historical collections of artifacts and documents related to
the history of Port Deposit. Located at 98 North Main
Street in Port Deposit, MD.
Dr. Samuel A. Mudd House Museum
Located at 3725
Dr. Samuel Mudd Road in Waldorf, MD.
Piscataway Indian Museum
discover the history and culture of the Piscataway and other
native peoples of the United States through exhibits, and
historic artifacts. The Piscataway Trading Post offers
native arts and crafts for purchase. Located at 16816
Country Lane in Waldorf, MD.
Smallwood State Park Retreat House
as Mattawoman Plantation, the home was built in 1760 by
tobacco farmer William Smallwood. The historic home
has been restored and features period furnishings.
Tours are offered by costumed docents. Located inside
Smallwood Sate Park. Smallwood State Park is at
2750 Sweden Point Road in Marbury, MD.
Thomas Stone National Historic Site
The Heritage Museum & Gardens of Dorchester
The Meredith House is home to the Dorchester
County Historical Society. Built in 1760, the home
holds period furniture, portraits, china and other
artifacts. Featured are artifacts of the seven
governors of Maryland from Dorchester County. Located
on the property are
Ron Rue Carvers Museum, Robbins Heritage Center, and the
Stronghouse. There is much to see at LaGrange
Plantation. Located at 1003 Greenway Drive in Cambridge, MD.
Neild Museum [Teas
houses a collection of artifacts from Colonial times used in
an agricultural setting. Located on LaGrange
Ron Rue Carvers Museum
Operated by the
Dorchester County Historical Society, the museum features a
collection of carvings of duck decoys. Located on
Monocacy National Battlefield
National Shrine of St. Elizabeth Ann Seton
Garrett County Historical Society
glimpse into the heritage of the Deep Creek Lake area, the
museum features historical artifacts related to the history
of Garrett County. The society also houses a
research library filled with family histories, historic
photographs and documents. Located inside
Dailey's Park at 107 S. Second Street in Oakland, MD.
Spruce Forest Artisan Village
An arts and heritage center in the Appalachian
Mountains in Western Maryland. Historical buildings in the
area include Stanton's Mill,
Casselman Bridge. Located at 177 Casselman Road in
Aberdeen Room Archives and Museum
Jerusalem Mill Village [Living
The original tract
created in 1687 was called Jerusalem. In 1772 David Lee, a
Quaker form Bucks County, PA established a gun manufactory to
provide guns for the American Revolution. Today, living
history provides visitors insight into the one of the oldest and
intact mill villages in Maryland. Located inside
Gunpowder Falls State Park at 2813 Jerusalem Road in
Rock Run Grist Mill at Susquehanna State Park
This is one of
several restored historical buildings at Susquehanna State
Park. The 3 story, water-powered mill was built in
1794 by John Stump and is fully operational today.
Demonstrations are held in the summer months and visitors
may receive a free bag of ground corn. Other buildings
in the vicinity are The Toll House, Rock Run miller's house,
Rock Run House, a 14 room stone mansion built in 1804 by
John Carter. All of this and more are located inside
the park which is located at 3318 Rocks Chrome Hill
Road in Jarrettsville, MD.
Stepping Stone Museum
Living History -
Preserves and demonstrates rural arts and crafts from the
1880-1920 time period.
Susquehanna Museum of Havre de Grace at the Lock House
Historic Savage Mill
Built in 1822, this
was a textile mill. Today, visitors will find this
enormous mill is full of antique shops, artist studios,
restaurants and specialty shops. Basically, a place for
history, shopping and food, Savage Mill is located at 8600
Foundry Street in Savage, MD.
Geddes Piper House
This historical home, located in
Chestertown, houses the Kent Historical Society and offers
materials for genealogy research of the area. Located at
101 Church Alley in Chestertown, MD.
Historic Houses of Chesterton
Kent County Museum
Located in Kennedyville, this history museum is devoted to the
rural history of Kent County.
Rock Hall Museum
Tolchester Beach Revisited
Learn about this
1877 amusement park / resort which at one time featured a
grand hotel, a dance hall, bowling alleys, a bingo parlor, a
roller skating rink, a miniature steam train, pony and goat
carts, boat rides, concessions and kewpie dolls.
Serving the Chesapeake Bay area for 85 years, there were
steamers running day and night, and even a ferry bringing
visitors to play at this well-known resort. Located on
Main Street in Rock Hall, MD.
The Waterman's Museum
exhibits about Chesapeake Bay crabbing and fishing along
with historical photos and items related to the industry in
Rock Hall. Located at 20880 Rock Hall Avenue in Rock
Beall - Dawson House
This historic home built in 1815 is located in Rockville,
Maryland. Today it depicts the daily life of an upper
class family and the slaves in Montgomery County along with
information about the early history of Montgomery County.
Located at 111 W.
Barton National Historic Site
Museum Exhibit] [Virtual
Barton Timeline] [Clara
Clara Barton is
famous for her service as a nurse and founder of the Red Cross.
The National Historic Site of Clara Barton's home, Glen Echo is
shown in guided tours throughout the day. Located adjacent
to Glen Echo Park at 5801 Oxford Road in Glen Echo, MD.
Gaithersburg Community Museum
The City of
Gaithersburg's Community Museum is housed inside the 1884 B&O
Railroad Station Complex. Built in 1884, the B&O Railroad
Station has been restored and today features exhibits and
programs to educate visitors about the history of the City of
Gaithersburg. The freight yard features a 1918 Buffalo
Creek and Gauley #14 Steam Locomotive and other railroad cars.
Family and history researchers will find local history
publications, genealogical documents and historical photographs
in the museum as well. Located at 9 S Summit Avenue in
Gaithersburg Washington Grove Volunteer Fire Department Fire
Housed in the fire
station in Olde Towne Gaithersburg, the museum features the
Diamont-T, a restored 1941 pumper and an old 1980 era Seagrave
pumper as well as various historical fire house items.
Located at 13 E Diamond Avenue in Olde Towne Gaithersburg, MD.
Devoted to the
preservation, collection and interpretation of the history
of Montgomery County, Maryland. The museum offers a
research library as well. Located at 17901 Bentley Road in
Sandy Spring, MD.
typical school day in 1880. School classes are
welcome. Contact them to learn more. The museum
is operated by the Historic Medley District Inc. and is
located in Poolesville, MD.
Stone Street Museum of 19th Century Medicine
Visit an 1852
Doctor's office at this museum which offers the history of
developments in medical science which occurred during the
career of Dr. Edward E. Stonestreet. Located at 103 W.
Montgomery Avenue in Rockville, MD.
The Waters House
This historic home in Germantown was built in
the 1790s and was home to the Waters family for more than a
century. Sitting inside a 3.9 acre Park, the home has farm
outbuildings and once housed a
special collections library which included many historical
documents and photos of Montgomery County. This
Resource Center has been closed. Located at 12535
Milestone Manor Lane in Germantown, MD.
Prince George's County
Operating a museum, gift shop and education
center, the foundation is dedicated to the preservation of
Piscataway Park, the
National Colonial Farm and the
Ecosystem Farm. Located at 3400 Bryan Point Road
in Accokeek, MD.
Belair Mansion and City of Bowie Museums
Belair Mansion ca
1745 is a lovely Georgian plantation house, once owned by
Samuel Ogle, provincial Governor of Maryland. The
mansion still contains some original furnishings and
paintings. Open for public tours, it is located at 12207
Tulip Grove Drive in Bowie, MD.
Prince George's County Genealogical Library
houses a large collection of genealogy materials to help
genealogists discover their heritage. It is right down
the road from the Belair Mansion at 12219 Tulip Grove Drive.
The city of Bowie offers several other
historic sites and museums to allow the visitor to soak up
some local history. The Old Town Welcome Center and
interactive Children's Museum is located at 8606 Chestnut
Stable Museum was one of the premier racing stables from
1930-1950 and home to "Gallant Fox" and "Omaha", both, horses
who won the Triple Crown along with another famed racehorse
"Nashua" . Closed in 1957 it is now a museum and offers
over 250 years of history. Located at 2835 Belair Drive.
Station and Huntington Museum: This 1900s railroad station
is home to a museum detailing the early days of the railroad
in Bowie. Located in historic Old Bowie at 8614 Chestnut
Television Museum: Devoted to
broadcasting history, from the earliest telegraphs through the
development of television. Housed in the old 1906 Harmel
House at 2606 Mitchelville Road.
Fort Washington Museum and Park
In 1937, the
Greenbelt community (a cooperative garden suburb) was built
as part of President Franklin D. Roosevelt's "New Deal".
Today, visitors can tour one of these historic homes and
experience the Greenbelt's beauty and rich history.
Come learn what life was like for a family of moderate
income during the Great Depression. Open every Sunday
for guided tours. Located at 15 Crescent Road in
The museum is
focused on the rich heritage of Laurel, Maryland, an
historic town situated on the Patuxent River. Tours
are offered along with the John Calder Brennan Research
Library which is available by appointment. Located at
817 Main Street in Laurel, MD.
Marietta House Museum
Built in 1813,
this Federal style brick house was home to Gabriel Duvall
(Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court) and remained
in the Duvall family until 1902. Situated on 25 acres,
the Marietta mansion is operated by the Maryland-National
Capital Park and Planning Commission as an historic house
museum and is furnished in period style furnishings.
The law office of Gabriel Duvall still remains as well as a
root cellar and the family graveyard has been relocated to
the site. The house is located at 5626 Bell Station
Road in Glenn Dale, MD.
National Colonial Farm
Operated by the
Accokeek Foundation, this living history farm depicts
life on an ordinary tobacco planting family's farm in the
1770's. Tours led by skilled interpreters feature
several historical structures including a 1770 farm
dwelling, an 18th century tobacco barn, a smokehouse and an
out-kitchen. Visitors will visit gardens filled with
18th century herbs, flowers and vegetables. Historical
varieties of tobacco, wheat and corn are cultivated in the
fields. Other activities visitors will be able to
observe are sewing, cooking, spinning, candlemaking,
wordworking and more. Located at 3400 Bryan Point Road
in Accokeek, MD.
Oxon Cove Park and Oxon Hill Farm
living history at Oxon Cove Park, where you can learn what
farm life was like in the 19th century. Several
historic structures are located inside the park. A
farmhouse is the oldest building. Known as Mount Welby
in the early 1800s, and later as Godding Croft, it is a 2
story plantation house once owned by the
Debutts family. Berry Plantation is another
historic structure in the park and is known for it's role in
the Underground Railroad. Located on MD 414 (Oxon Hill
Road) at 6411 Oxon Hill Rd. in Oxon Hill, MD.
features the view from Mount Vernon. It has been
preserved and visitors will delight in the view which
remains much the same as when George Washington himself saw
it from Mt. Vernon. The park is a sanctuary to bald
eagles, deer, fox and many other species of wildlife.
Hiking, birding and fishing are some of the activities
enjoyed in the park. Located at 3400 Bryan Point Road
in Accokeek, MD.
Poplar Hill on His Lordship's Kindness
[African American History]
Riversdale House Museum
National Historic Landmark, is a restored, five-part,
stucco-covered brick plantation home built between 1801 and
1807. Construction of this elegant manor house was begun by
Henri Stier, a Flemish aristocrat, and was completed by his
daughter Rosalie and her husband George Calvert, grandson of
the fifth Lord Baltimore. The Federal style mansion has
particularly fine interior decorative detail. Numerous
nationally significant figures later lived here. Riversdale
is also home to a museum shop. Visit at 4811 Riverdale
Road in Riverdale Park, MD.
Surratt House Museum
Queen Anne's County
Eastern Shore Life [Tour
Centreville, Maryland, this Museum includes early artifacts,
antique farm implements, Indian artifacts and early buildings
such as a blacksmith shop and old print shop. Focus is on
early agricultural and maritime activities, promoting
appreciation of the region's cultural and natural heritage.
Queenstown Colonial Courthouse
colonial courthouse is dated to 1708. Located at 100 Del
Rhodes Avenue in Queenstown, MD.
St. Luke's Episcopal Church
Attend church services in the
oldest intact brick church in Maryland. Located in Church
Hill, Maryland, this historic church was built in 1732. Also
located on the grounds is a small 1817 building once used as a
parish academy school.
Stevensville Historic Town
Located on Kent Island,
Stevensville has many structures on the National Historic
Register including a post office, train depot, the Old Christ
Church and Cray House which was built ca 1809.
J. Millard Tawes Library Museum
The childhood home of Governor J. Millard
Tawes features 2 stories. Construction on the home was
started in 1887 by James Tawes (father to J. Millard Tawes).
The home has been beautifully restored by the Crisfield
Heritage Foundation and holds a library filled with
artifacts, correspondence, and speeches of the Governor
along with many research materials. Located on Ashbury
Avenue in Crisfield, MD. Open by appointment only.
Gov. J. Millard Tawes Historical Museum
Primary focus is on the history of the Lower
Shire with exhibits about the beginnings of the Chesapeake
Bay. Exhibits include Native American influence on
early colonists, seafood harvesting, and the history of
Crisfield. Located at 3 Ninth Street in Crisfield, MD.
Smith Island Center
St. Mary's County
Drayden African-American Schoolhouse
Located on Cherryfield Road, this historic
building is being preserved by St. Mary's County but not yet
open to the public.
Historic St. Mary's City
Known as the 4th permanent British settlement
in the "New World", the city was the first capital of
Maryland. Featured are living history exhibits,
archaeology discoveries and paths back into the
past..... as far back as the 1600s. Located off Route
5 in Southern Maryland.
Little Red Schoolhouse
Also known as Charlotte Hall School, this early
19th century schoolhouse is located on the grounds of the St.
Clement's Island - Potomac River Museum in Colton's Point, MD
and is open during museum hours.
Piney Point Lighthouse Museum and Park
Focuses on the construction, history and
operation of the lighthouse. This was a working lighthouse
from 1836 to 1964. Visit their site for more information, a
list of lighthouse keepers 1835 to 1933 and driving
Potomac River Maritime Exhibit
This museum houses 4 historic wooden vessels.
The exhibit is located at 44701 Lighthouse Road in Piney Point,
18th century mansion is older than the United States.
Set on 95 acres with a full array of outbuildings, gardens
and even an original slave cabin, the museum gives it's
visitors a taste of what life was like near the time of the
birth of our nation. Located at 44300 Sotterly Lane in
Hollywood, MD off or Route 245.
St. Clements Island State Park
Considered the "Birthplace of Maryland", you
will find your way here only by boat. Boat rides to the island
are offered at the
St. Clement's Island - Potomac River Museum. The
museum concentrates on English history which preceded the
English voyage of the Ark and the Dove, landing on St.
Clements Island on March 25, 1634. The island is a 40 acre
park with a memorial cross dedicated to the founders of
Get a free brochure on St. Clements Island in PDF format.
Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum
the preservation and display of over 300 years of Oxford's
history, the museum is in the center of historic Oxford at
100 South Morris Street, just across from Town Park.
St. Michael's Museum at St. Mary's Square
The main building
was built by Jeremiah Sewell in 1865. Located on Mill
Wye Grist Mill
Located in Wye Mills, Maryland and
built ca 1682, you can still purchase flour from this working
colonial grist mill and receive a tour of this grand old flour
mill. Operation is seasonal. Call 410-827-3850 for
current hours. Located at 14269 Old Wye Mills Road in
Wye Mills, MD.
Antietam National Battlefield
This large 262 acre
park features Pemberton Hall. Built by Isaac Hardy in
1741, the plantation has been restored and provides exhibits of
historical items related to the history of Wicomico County.
Located about 2.5 miles west of US Business Route 50 in
of Worcester County
Ocean City Life - Saving Station Museum
The Rural Life Museum
of Trappe is focused on the preservation, interpretation and
display of historical artifacts, photos, items and documents
related to the rural homes, farms and industry in the Trappe
area of Maryland. Preservation of historical structures
are a primary focus and the property currently features 4
historic buildings including the
Slaughter Smokehouse and the
Scale House. The museum has plans to offer living
history in this museum. Located at 29241 Backtown Road in
Museum Index for Other States
Maryland Census Records